Hopgood’s Foodliner

A while back now I took a couple friends out for their birthdays (instead of traditional gifts I usually take my friends out for a nice dinner… it’s more or less an excuse for me to go out and splurge on a meal). And on this occasion, splurge we did.  We made our way out to Hopgood’s Foodliner in Roncy and prepared for a feast.  We ordered a round of cocktails and then got into the food.  To start was had the Oysters, PEI and Nova Scotia varieties.

IMG_2073

Fresh, briny, meaty and delicious.  I love a good oyster.  Next we had the Potted shrimp under butter on fancy bread.

IMG_2074

It’s a pretty thick and hard layer of butter to get through but once through, the shrimp with the butter on the toast, so good! Butter and shellfish is always a good combination.  Next was the Smoked mackerel on oatcakes topped with a cream cheese texture but ranch like tasting spread.

IMG_2075

The oatcake was like a better tasting triscuit.  Not as solid but still strong enough to hold together for multiple bites.  The spread and the mackerel blended really well and the dill added a nice refreshing flavor to the smoky mackerel. Next was the Albacore tuna with Vicki’s heirloom tomatoes.

IMG_2076

I love fresh tuna and mixed with the sweet tomatoes, this was just awesome.  Next was the Hot crab dip and triscuits.

IMG_2077

This was one of my favorite dishes of the evening.  I think I’m more partial to crab dip in general but this is definitely one of the better ones I’ve had in my life. I had a nice texture, crunchy and creamy and its was loaded with crab meat.  Next were the Salmon croquettes and cream cheese.

IMG_2078

I normally find salmon on the heavier side (which I don’t have a problem with) but maybe through the magic of deep frying (and yes, it is a magical thing) it became less heavy.  I’m a big fan of the crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside type of texture so this was really satisfying for me.  Next were the Lobster nuggets, lightly deep fried with a chilli mayo like sauce.

IMG_2079

This was the hit of the night. In fact after the first bite we tried to flag down the waitress to order another one but they sold out. I loved everything about this.  The crunchy texture, the buttery lobster meat, the creaminess of the mayo was just a little kick.  This may actually be one of the best things I’ve ever eaten.  Holy smokes I’m salivating now just writing about this. It was a special they had for the evening but if it ever makes the regular menu I’ll be back regularly just for this.  Next was the Charred octopus, pork sausage, potatoes and Romesco sauce.

IMG_2080

I’m normally weary of ordering octopus since it usually comes out rubbery.  This was anything but.  Nice charred flavor with a nice warm, soft bite into the octopus meat. The potatoes were also charred and had a nice carmlization on it. It’s like breakfast potatoes that get burnt on the griddle.  The slightly burnt ones are the best. The Romesco sauce, a perfect compliment to everything above.  Next were the Digby scallops, roasted beets and walnuts.

IMG_2081

I really like scallops so this was already a win for me.  Scallops were cooked perfectly and the blend of bold flavors was just amazing.  We were told a must have were the Halifax donairs.

IMG_2082

Now I’ve been to pizza corner in Halifax and this is like a Halifax donair on steroids. Just better quality meat and veggies but still that traditional and totally unhealthy sweet garlic sauce.  This was really good but a part of me feels like dirty street food should be just that, dirty street food.  This fancied up version, although incredibly tasty and delicious leaves me a little unsettled as a man who loves to eat. I would eat it again though since Halifax donairs are rare in this city.  To finish we had the Chocolate bar.

IMG_2083

Toffee, crispy dark chocolate wrapped up nicely with a bow.  This was fantastic. Now I’m normally not a dessert/sweets guy but even I had to go back for a couple more bites. This may be one of the best chocolate bars I’ve ever had. I loved the crunchy toffee and the richness of the chocolate. This was just quality all around.

IMG_2084

Our experience at Hopgood’s foodliner was fantastic. Every dish (and we had a lot of them between the 3 of us, that’s right there were three of us eating all this food) was delicious. It was hard coming out and saying which was the best since they were all so good. It did a number on my pocketbook especially since we had more than a few of the fancy cocktails but it was worth it for a special occasion.

http://hopgoodsfoodliner.com

~ by jlowjlow on February 25, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
