Le Cartet (Montreal) – Brunch? Oui s’il vous plait!

Just before leaving Montreal on my last trip a few weeks ago, a friend of mine took me to Le Cartet, a popular brunch spot in Old Montreal and also just steps away from her new place.

We arrived at the door step and were told there was about a 45 minute wait.  “Worth it?” I asked me friend.  “Definitely! Let’s just go down the street and grab a coffee.”  A cup of coffee and several rounds of iphone 20 questions later we finally got a table.

The waitress brought out the amouse-bouche first, a serving of banana? bread.

The bread was moist and delicious.  Rich with fruit flavors (banana, plantain…I should really develop my fruit palette).  Great start to the meal.  My friend’s significant other had the Brunch Sante.

It looked much healthier than what I ordered and just as delicious.  It was devoured quite quickly so I’m assuming it’s good.  The granola and fruit looked particularly appetizing.  My sister had the Brunch d’atlantique.

Now if you love salmon, this is brunch heaven!  Salmon and cream cheese on top of a bagel.  Formidable!  Salmon egg scramble.  Magnifique!  Other salmon pastry cake thing (almost like a crab cake).  Incroyable!  This plate was very well received.  I had the Brunch de cantons.

This is a meat lover’s brunch.  Ham, bacon, sausage, eggs, baked beans and potatoes wedges (brined, spiced and then pan fried).  The frying pan presentation makes me even giddier since it makes me feel a bit like a cowboy out on the range (must be because it’s around Stampede time back home).  Heavenly going down, not so nice on  a 6 hour car ride back to Toronto.  Oh well!  C’est la vie.

My friend also ordered an egg dish with some sort of green vegetable that I can’t remember for the life of me.  That too looked delicious.  Whenever I find myself in Montreal I’ll have to make my way back to Le Cartet to eat my way through the rest of the menu.

To my friend, thank you for your hospitality during the weekend.  I had a blast!  Great food, great scotch and even better company.  I’ll have to make a point of visiting more often.  Miss you and hopefully see you soon.

http://lecartet.com/

~ by jlowjlow on July 26, 2011.

One Response to “Le Cartet (Montreal) – Brunch? Oui s’il vous plait!”

  1. Hi Justin! Montreal and your old friend miss you very much. COME BACK NOW. Anyway, I had the scrambled eggs with asparagus at Cartet that day. So good. Blocks of cheddar cheese in the eggs… such a good surprise every time.

    By the way, Wok has reopened downtown.

    I miss Golden Chicken.

    Love,
    B.

Leave a Reply

 
