Waterfalls – Indian Tapas

When my sisters were here we always had trouble deciding where to eat for dinner.  On my older sister’s last night I had suggested that we go for Indian food.  As it turned out my little sister hasn’t really had Indian food.  I figured this was a good opportunity to try a relatively new Indian tapas place in Kensington market, this way she could try a variety of dishes.  To start, we ordered three variety platters: the vegetarian combo platter, the non-vegetarian combo platter and the waterfalls special tapas platter.

The vegetarian platter came with two huge samosas which are the triangular pastries filled with potatoes, peas and spices.  The samosas were fried nicely without being too oily. The inside was okay.  A little starchy for my liking but the flavor of the spices was quite good.  The vegetable pakoras (mix of vegetables, battered and fried) were also pretty good.  The pakoras weren’t anything to rave about.  Like most deep fried food, it was tasty and the vegetables made me feel like I was sort of being healthy.  The onion bajia was my favorite.  It consisted of a partially sliced onion (think bloomin’ onion from the Outback steakhouse but smaller), battered in a chickpea flour and then deep fried.  It was like Indian onion rings…all the deep fried goodness of onion rings with an Indian flare.

The non-vegetarian combo platter came with fried calamari, chicken tikka and shrimp tikka.  The huge chunks of chicken were spiced nicely but due to their size, we a little on the drier side.  The shrimp was huge and were actually really good.  Great flavor and good texture.  The ends were a little rubbery but overall I liked it.  The calamari was okay.  Tasted like something you would get at a pub.  The batter wasn’t too heavy but the meat was a little rubbery.

The Waterfalls special tapas platter came with smoked salmon, jumbo shrimp and scallops.  The salmon was okay, pretty standard to what you would find at most places.  The yogurt  on top added a nice flavor.  The shrimp was okay, similar to what I found on the other platter but without the nice spice flavor.  The scallops were really soft and tender…almost undercooked.  My sisters didn’t really care for the scallops but once you mixed it in with the sauce, I thought it was okay.

For mains we ordered the Waterfalls Curry Delights (choice of two curries with rice, pappadum, mixed pickle and raita) and a separate butter chicken curry.  The two curries we chose for the Curry Delights were the Aloo Gobi (a spicy potato cauliflower curry) and lamb madras curry.

I really liked both these curries.  The aloo gobi had a nice spicy kick to it.  The veggies were cooked well, not hard and raw but not too mushy either.  The lamb came in huge chunks and like the chicken in the appetizer was a little on the drier side.  The madras curry however was quite good.  I lovely mix of spices with a fairly mild heat factor.  My little sister loved the pappadom.  It was kind of a like a tortilla chip with more flavor…Indian flavor.

The butter chicken was okay.  It has a lot of great flavors that you come to expect from butter chicken but it wasn’t as complex in terms of spices compared to other places I’ve been to.  It was still good though and I used what was left of the naan to soak up the sauce after all the meat was gone.  The naan was much different than what I’m used to.  It was  a lot crispier.  I’m used to naan being a little crisp on the outside and soft and doughy throughout.  This was just crispy the whole way through.  I think I prefer the doughy-er versions since they soak up more sauce but that might just be personal preference.

Overall, I thought it was a pretty decent meal.  The food was good but not stellar.  It was a nice way to ease my sister into Indian cuisine.  Now we can go out and try some of the other spicier and more adventurous curries.  I like the atmosphere at this place.  We sat out on the patio and there was a live band playing in the restaurant.  I think the restaurant is a great addition to the neighborhood.  The Spanish tapas place Torritos up the street, the variety of Mexican places down the street and the Grilled Cheese around the corner are making this strip of Augusta quite a hot spot for food.

http://www.waterfallsrestaurant.ca/home.html

~ by jlowjlow on July 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
