I like this Reuben!

I’ve met only one Reuben my whole life (well… person, I’ve met many sandwiches).  He was a big asian guy who kind of beat up on a friend of mine a long time ago so I didn’t really like him.  He didn’t mean to hurt my friend but a warm up in sports is meant to loosen someone up, not give them a bleeding nose.  Although I wasn’t a big fan of this Reuben, I love a good reuben sandwich.  This past weekend a friend and I made a trip to The Corned Beef House.

The small corner shop on Adelaide doesn’t seat more than 20 people, has one friendly waitress running all over the place and a cook in the back making towering sandwiches.  The walls were adorned with pictures of mobsters (and an actual picture of the cast of the Sopranos in front of the restaurant), posters of celebrities past like Sinatra and Marilyn Monroe, and old ads from the twenties or thirties.  The tables were packed pretty tight together but we managed to grab one near the back by the soda machine.

This being our first trip here, we decided to order the corned beef sandwich and the reuben.  We also ordered a side of coleslaw and a couple drinks (my friend ordered a Boylan cherry cola which, in hindsight, I probably should have ordered too since they are delicious).  The coleslaw came out first.

The coleslaw was light, refreshing with a strong taste of sweet vinegar.  I don’t care for coleslaw with mayo so it was a relief when they brought it out and I didn’t see the thick mess you get from a place like KFC.  The veggies were fresh and crisp and as a side to the hot sandwiches, it was wonderful.

We ordered the 7oz. sandwiches so we were a little shocked when they came out since we didn’t expect them to be so big.  I’ve had the 7oz. sandwich at Caplansky’s and it wasn’t this big.  Maybe this place is just really generous.  We decided to go with the dijon mustard which had a bit of kick to it and worked nicely with the meat.  The rye bread was fresh.  It didn’t have as much flavor as I had hoped for but the flavor of the meat more than made up for it.  It wasn’t too smoky or salty.  It has a classic cured meat taste to it.  Overall, a solid sandwich.  Now, the reuben!

The reuben was AMAZING!  The dark rye bread was toasted and had a lot of flavor.  I REALLY like this bread.  This is the type of flavor that was missing with the light rye bread.  The sauerkraut was delicious and not overpowering which it sometimes does in a sandwich. The swiss cheese was tasty but was more of a background taste when combined with the beef, bread and sauerkraut.  There was a sauce inside as well that my friend and I really liked.  I thought it might have been a type of special mayo.  I just looked up reuben sandwiches on wikipedia and apparently it might have been thousand island dressing.  All the flavors of this sandwich were well balanced and incredibly delicious!  I’m definitely going to make another trip soon.

http://cornedbeefhouse.com/

~ by jlowjlow on December 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
